3rd Rock from The Sun

3rd rock tells the story of 4 aliens that have come to earth to study mankind. This show analizes out culture, showing it through the eyes of someone completely foreign. It mocks modern society through satire and good humored jokes. This show could easily appeal to men, women and children, thus making it a fantastic family show. The humor that it uses can be quite mature, but only to the mature eye. The particular episode I watched was all about the group of aliens trying to fit to society. They try to figure out what race and ethnicity they are, learn to dance, and many other things that humans normally and make it all seam very bizarre. The show focus’ on things that would effect all types of people, the main characters are an older, and younger man, a thirty something woman and high school boy. Through this every person can easily identify with the characters. This show is a typical hilarious 90’s family sitcom. I love the way that this show highlights the weird things that us humans do.

I don’t like reality shows at all. I feel as thought the only way that they would be interesting is if the things that happens was actually real, but remembering that they are basically all scripted, I cant stand to watch them.

 

6 Responses to “3rd Rock from The Sun”

  1. Very nice. I believe with you that “3rd Rock” used a good example of acceptance in society.
    I was curious what type of commercials were shown when you were watching “3rd Rock From the Sun?”

  2. Now that’s a nice last from the past. I loved this show as a kid, and now understand more of the jokes. I always thought they should do more shows like this that make fun of our world.

  3. I’ve never heard of this show, but it sounds interesting.

  4. Omg that is a HILARIOUS concept for a show! I love to observe and question the silly ways humans act in various situations, so creating a show where an Alien attempts to learn and incorporate itself into the American culture is priceless. Americans have a very particular and cliche way of acting, so I’m sure the show highlights some of these cliches in a comical fashion. I am curious to watch the show to see what sterotypical behavior and actions they’re having the “aliens” engage in.

  5. Its funny because as I was reading this I thought about an old nickelodeon cartoon! But this show sounds really funny, but I have to admit I love reality shows they are my quilty pleasure.

  6. This is a great show to analyze, because you can not only look at the show itself but what the show is saying about other sitcoms and our society. I would have liked to hear even more about the characters and the plot of the episode you watched so you could dive in deeper to the analysis. (Could the characters be relatable? What is the specific plot saying about our culture.) But a great show and start to your analysis!

Leave a comment